Newsletter 6

The Most Important Thing I’ve ever written
“Procrastination, stress, overwhelm, burn-out are all very closely linked and it is difficult to be feeling good when one is suffering from any or all of these. However the reverse applies too.”
When Mark Forster says this is one of his most important things he has written, one must read. Here is a simple technique that he suggests to increase the overall state and well-being of mind
http://markforster.squarespace.com/blog/2017/7/25/the-most-important-thing-ive-ever-written.html

Do it Now! AoM Instructional
This is one of the recent inspirational videos that I saw in helping me eliminate procrastination. Seems to work.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auXMHMAZL6Y

How to get things done: Do it now!
“Remember these three words, and repeat them to yourself often during the day: Do it now. This principle is obviously simple but if you apply it, it will revolutionize your productivity.”
I am an idea guy. I have loads full of them. Unfortunately that is not enough. I simply couldn’t get myself around, until recently. If you are like me, this 3 word mantra ‘Do it now!’ can definitely help you.
http://wesmd.com/get-things-done/

The One Minute To-do List
“A good to-do list can show you what your most important next work to do is. A good to-do list approach will control the size of that list so you do not feel overwhelmed by it. A good to-do list system should help you do the work smartly and efficiently; it can make sure the work you do next is the right work. And it can truly get your workday under control.”
I found this a refreshingly new way of organising my to-do list. Not based on importance, but based on urgency. And it takes only one minute. Get the free copy of the booklet from Michael Linenberger below.
https://www.michaellinenberger.com/free1MTD.htm

‘Hard thing about the Hard things’ by Ben Horowitz – Book Summary
“Every time I read a management or self-help book, I find myself saying, “That’s fine, but that wasn’t really the hard thing about the situation.” The hard thing isn’t setting a big, hairy, audacious goal. The hard thing is laying people off when you miss the big goal. The hard thing isn’t hiring great people. The hard thing is when those “great people” develop a sense of entitlement and start demanding unreasonable things. The hard thing isn’t dreaming big. The hard thing is waking up in the middle of the night in a cold sweat when the dream turns into a nightmare.”
It is a great read indeed – there are some really great gems to learn whether you are going to run your own business or work for someone. Great summary from Niklas Goeke.
https://fourminutebooks.com/the-hard-thing-about-hard-things-summary/

Published by sathyanand

I'm a work-in-progress just like you - a fellow traveller gathering wisdom and sharing my views of the world and life.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.